A free and open dialogue, you say?

bad luck brian asks me about francis

I wrote the following passage today on my Facebook page. It seems to have struck a chord. In the spirit of Grappa Francesco, the least I can say is that it is off-the-cuff and from the heart.

By the way, Pope Francis, I don’t care what ‘kind’ of Church you do or “do not want” (EG §49). I believe in One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church; I have neither the gullibility nor the audacity to “dream” a better Church than the one Christ established–a Church, I might add, He established long before you were allowed, for mysterious reasons known only to God, to gaslight, guilt-trip, confuse, Balkanize and generally trivialize. If you want a better Church than the Catholic Church, by all means, go elsewhere to fabricate it in your own image.

dr-strangelove-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-bomb-original

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A free and open dialogue, you say?

  1. Way to go, brother. Just how much we are expected to endure can be imagined if we think of our own selves as barely clinging to the starboard side of the Barque while the Great Helmsman has abandoned the wheel and is standing directly over us pissing*

    is that too churlish?

    O, and this is a serious question – how can ABS read your facebook and twitter accounts if he is not a member of either?

  2. You know, brother, it is getting to the point where about the only thing that keeps me in Full Communion with the Church is the, admittedly outside possibility, that my desire Ronda Rousey may one day fight Sr. Maureen Fiedler at World Youth Day is not an impossible dream.

  3. Dear ABS,

    My Twitter feed is public – twitter.com/EB4ELIZA

    My Facebook is restricted to Facebook user friends. I will, however, try to get better at funneling my thoughts there to the blog here.

    However, as I’m looking for work, I realize it’s prudent to keep my doctrinaire Catholic convictions more under the radar. My blog is the filtered, findable version of my mind.😉

  4. Thanks, brother. ABS has ten goals in life (the last three of which are being constantly revised) and not joining Facebook is number 10.

  5. Dale Price says:

    Bravo!

    And, yes, please keep posting thoughts here. I tried to tolerate FB again, but just couldn’t. Deactivated the account again tonight.

  6. Tamsin says:

    “habemus grappam!” ~ 2013

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

