A simple, reliable, and rich devotional game plan…

Read and pray your missal upon waking and Fr. Gabriel’s Divine Intimacy upon retiring.

I was catching up in my reading of Divine Intimacy last night, and the following are some excerpts (Twitterized) which really struck me.

“Without mortification of the senses, the soul is like a marketplace, open to all kinds of traffic and rumor.”

“When I pour myself out on creatures and waste my time in long, useless conversations, my spirit becomes dry and empty.”

“O loving Incarnate Word who once silenced the winds and calmed the waves, deign to repeat this action in my soul.”

“Faith is like the feet wherewith the soul journeys to God, and love the guide that directs it.” St. John of the Cross, Spiritual Canticle

To love is to “will good”; to love God is to will what Jesus taught us to pray: “Hallowed be Thy name; Thy will be done.”

“If a soul looks for sweetness and delight in God, it would not love God purely, above all things.” St. John of the Cross

As I may have mentioned before, it never feels right wishing someone a “Happy Advent,” so instead I wish you a fruitful Advent. We’re almost out of the darkness.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

