Quick poll, because I’m a man of the people, if nothing else…

How many of you out there watch no television, including things like Netflix or Amazon Prime (i.e. perhaps don’t even own a TV)?

How many of you raised or are raising children without TV (or with extremely regulated viewing)?

How many of you think you’d like to get rid of TV altogether (and why you haven’t done so yet)?

—-

My underlying premise is that “doors open both ways”. Just because most people believe they choose, and are therefore in control of, the content they imbibe, by opening themselves to a mind-meld with the mellifluous magic of modern marketing media, they are subject to the media’s influence coming from the other side of the doorway. Media are by definition conduits used by agents, so the key question is, what are the aims of the agent producing media content. What’s in a name? That which we call public relations by any other any name would smell as rank (or as sweet) as propaganda. The bottom line is, propaganda is not an option; we are all practitioners thereof. The only question is, are we agents of evangelism or of dysangelism? Are we being “transformed by the renewing of our minds ” (Roman 12:2), or are we being deformed by the commodification and cognitive colonisation of our minds?

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quick poll, because I’m a man of the people, if nothing else…

  1. Patti Day says:

    The cost of my monthly cable tv could feed a family in a developing nation.

  2. Brock Fowler says:

    We are in the 2nd category…

  3. c matt says:

    3rd category. Only because I love watching international soccer. The Pope and I do have something in common.

  4. Just when it appears that the Oakland Raiders have, at long last, found their franchise quarterback, now is the time you chose to write about no TV?

    Why must you be so contentious?

  5. The Rad Trad says:

    I watch maybe an hour of Netflix per week and one football game. Otherwise, even with my limited viewing, I cannot stand television. I can feel the IQ points dropping every time I stare at the idiot box. Best year of my life was one during which I had no access to TV. I guess I watch nearly no TV.

  6. Tantumblogo says:

    So we really don’t ever watch TV. However, we do have a TV with rabbit ears only. When I was sick, I did watch a few hours a day of strictly 60s-70s programs with the sound turned off on the obnoxiously repetitious elderly person commercials that just…….never………stopped! Other than that, an occasional college football game, and that’s about it. Under normal circumstances, our kids might see an hour of actual TV a month. But they do have many kid videos and watch those maybe 3 times a week.

    Even this brief exposure, after a very long period of no TV at all, left me feeling like I was getting sucked back in. It’s pretty sad when you’re saying “that 40 year old Rockford Files episode really isn’t that bad. And Emergency! is positively great!”

  7. Maybe it is only M.J. but there does seem to be a clear cause and effect connection between the cancellation of Green Acres and the declining quality of vegetables.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

