We interrupt this intermission with a brief broadcast…

mr mom tvHi. Me again. Remember me? Yeah, the guy who used to blog here. I’m not dead yet. You might want to take a seat before I tell you this, but for the past few weeks, I’ve been on duty as a full-time Mr. Mom while putting in the occasional freelance hours in a new field I’m hoping to make into a career.

A week or two ago, I went through my dossier of blog drafts and selected about ten that I really want to polish up and post in the next few weeks, and I was going to preview them, but the window in which I was saving the links for reference closed with my browser, so now I need to go back and pick them out again. Aside from such fascinating logistical snags, as you may have heard, taking care of very small kids all day is extremely demanding and distracting. I’ve been in a heavy reading phase of late, and staying fit is essential for my sanity, so I need some time to regain my urge to blog blog, so, for now, you’ll have to get by with a dribble here. 

I will also say that I really appreciate the conversation some of you have been having about religious liberty, and as much as I have wanted to read it all and dive in, well… small kids, weird work schedule, one-driver family, etc. All I will say for now, though, is this:

Enjoining nations to a) afford their citizens the right to practice whatever religion they prefer is not the same thing as enjoining all nations to b) promote the Catholic faith as a civic duty. Tolerance for the practice of religion (a) is logically contained within the duty to promote the Catholic religion (b), and insofar as Dignitatis Humanae stopped at that former principle (a), it failed to enunciate the fullness of the Catholic teaching on what true religious liberty is (b). A half-truth is logically equivalent to a falsehood, and Catholicism, by its very name, is opposed to half-truths and pragmatic compromise. It is the antithesis of true liberty to promote error on an equal footing with truth, for only truth sets man free. Therefore, it is the antithesis of religious liberty to bind true religion, as the pillar of civic order, by the indifferentist chains of mere, Lockean tolerance. 

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We interrupt this intermission with a brief broadcast…

  1. Amateur Brain Surgeon says:

    B.C. You have been greatly blessed. ABS was a full time Dad during the day while the Bride worked during the day and he worked at a Weyerhouse Paper Mill at night (High Pay) and he would not trade one second of those years.

    Me male friends thought ABS was strange to desire to spend as much time as possible with his children whereas ABS thought they were missing out of THE most important vocation/role/job possible – Fatherhood.

    Being called a good father is infinitely more rewarding then making a lot of money or achieving a certain professional status and our children were fantastic; man o man, the games they made-up with these insane rules… we still laugh about them to this day.

    Moat Monster, with ABS as the Monster; played on the living room rug with the object being them running over the rug into the dining room without me catching them and with the rules changing very time; some times the couch was a safe zone, another time the fireplace was a sage zone; sometimes I had to close me eyes…

    And there were other games, and playing outside, teaching them the faith, teaching them to ride bikes and on and on

    Envying you would be a sin but I am jealous

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

