An obiter dictum on boxing as a metaphor for life…

I just saw a clip of Naseem “Prince” Hased in the ring, and it reminded me that I don’t mind trash talk and grandstanding, as long as you can back it up when it counts. And Hased certainly could back up his trash talk, for a while, at least. Unfortunately, his trash talk betrayed a sloppiness as a professional fighter that undermined his huge potential as a scrapper.

As much fun as a showboater is, I prefer cheering for the perceived underdog, generally a more subdued character, which is why watching Barrera’s victory over Hased (his only loss) was just as exciting as Hased’s usual antics. Barrera fought “old school” and, except for a couple overreactions to Hased’s “antics”, he didn’t resort to any flashy moves.

I’m not a huge sports fan, but I did lots of sports in high school, and still consider myself an amateur adult athlete. I used to be a bit of a trash-talker, but with age I’ve shifted more to the quiet, Ferdinand-the-Bull style of performance.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An obiter dictum on boxing as a metaphor for life…

  1. Tony Jokin says:

    I do like watching sports sometimes but I do have a dislike toward Boxing or UFC.

    Every time I see it, it just gives me this feeling that we are heading back to the Roman days of gladiators fighting in the ring for entertainment.

  2. Tony:

    I think there’s a world of difference between boxing and modern MMA. I dislike MMA very much. I honor wrestling as the king of all sports, and boxing as a classical expression of athleticism. Truth be told, gloves have made fights ever harder on boxers. Bare-knuckled matches were over when a hand or some other critical area was injured (jaw, eye, etc.), sparing the boxers’ brains from endless rounds of heavy thudding. Cuts and fractures heal up easily; brain damage does not.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

