March 13: A day to celebrate!

“God has given the world a holy Church in whose safe harbor the lovers of truth seek refuge, as well as all those who desire to be saved and to escape the dreadful wrath of God.” –– St. Theophilus of Antioch

“[S]ince it is in the very nature of man to follow the guide of reason in his actions, if his intellect sins at all his will soon follows; and thus it happens that false opinions, whose seat is in the understanding, influence human actions and pervert them. Whereas … if men be of sound mind and take their stand on true and solid principles, there will result a vast amount of benefits for the public and private good. … For, not in vain did God set the light of reason in the human mind….”Aeterni Patris §2

“32 And the spirits of the prophets are subject to the prophets. 33 For God is not the God of dissension, but of peace”. — I Corinthians 14

A year of laughter and growth and photos to warm anyone’s heart!

A year of changes and challenges which stretched my faith!

Yes, today, one year later–my firstborn is two years old!

quicksandI just had cake and kisses with my family for my daughter’s birthday, yet a deep melancholy perches upon my heart like a seething vulture. With what I should have known was morbid certainty, my post about abstaining from commentary on “this papacy” (or, “this kaleidoscope of papal puzzles”) only bred more commentary thereon. In a fresh way, I am almost unspeakably grieved to find myself at odds with friends and brethren, and just as deeply wounded to know that brothers-in-arms are still as firmly in the bewildered ranks of the walking wounded as I myself was when “the time of troubles” began. Thus, my mind wanders in an arid aporia of piety and hope, groping for a reason why a phenomenon, so full of “hope and change” for so many, bears down upon me as an unprecedented bramble of dissension and confusion in the one “safe harbor” promised to man.

mass3-holymass06hYet the song remains the same: Life is good, God is better, and I’m still a sinner.

Lent is my salvation, both because it gives me something else with which to preoccupy myself, but also because it puts the past half-year in the perfect context. I have been going through a Great Lent at this blog, and the only relief, as Lent reminds us, is that “Whenever [God] afflict[s], it is to heal, and wherever [He] mortif[ies], life increases” (Fr. Gabriel, Divine Intimacy §96). The good news of the bad news of mortification is that I am ordered to get out of my own head and bury my fears, drives, dreams, and duties in the healing wounds of Christ Crucified. On the other side of this Cross is Resurrection, both for myself and for Holy Mother Church–even as we can imagine Her speaking within Her innermost Heart, “Lies! I have been deceived!”

Until that dawn, however, please do not expect me to get into the groove simply because it’s the loudest show on earth.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March 13: A day to celebrate!

  1. Rosemary says:

    Headline – I thought, “What?” Congratulations and happy birthday to your daughter.🎂

  2. joe m says:

    “…The one “safe harbor” promised to man.”

    Jesus, His Word, His presence in the Mass. NOT the papacy, which is supposed to safeguard and uphold these.

    For the moment, conservative Evangelicals are for my money doing rearguard work while Rome listens to the likes of Cardinals Kapser and Schonborn. Not how I’d script it, and yes, headache inducing, but the plain reality. Can’t explain it, so won’t even try. Since it is His Church, I assume the Lrod will have patience with it. He is omisncient, so he HAS to know what is in the next encyclical. I will remain happily unaware. And throw up every time I hear some columnist mention their “Papa” Francis. If ever there was an impediment to the New Evangelization, it would by that sort of cloying address. Happy Lent.

  3. Dear BC. Congratulations on your daughter’s birthday. I was happiest when my children were young. I never tired of being with them and I know I spent more time with my children then did other men (just fact, not bragging) and I have always been convinced that other men were missing out on life by not spending more time with their children.

    You well know what it is I think about this Pope so I won’t write about that but I do want you to be assured that I keep you in my prayers for you have a heavier cross to bear than do I

  4. Steve Fowler says:

    We are living in times in which it is difficult to keep one’s balance. Pursuing holiness is the only answer.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

