Popes are like kids…

You never know what the next one will look like or how long he’ll live–

you’re duty-bound to love, listen to, and grow with all of them, even when they make you mad–

and yet you’re allowed to love some more than others.

Happy Ash Wednesday.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Popes are like kids…

  1. Steve Fowler says:

    I’m thinking that if a Pope has been Pope for 1 year, then he is entitled to roughly 1 / 2,000 of my attention.

    It’s not that simple, of course, but it is the endless words of the recent Popes and Vatican II that keeps us from reading much of the past…and thus makes us prisoners of our own, transient age.

  2. Tony Jokin says:

    I was reading the Imitation of Christ and how we should not care about the happenings of the world and so forth. I just realized why this is so difficult. We live in a time where Church teaching itself is given the impression that it can change legitimately by “doctrinal development”. Or, Church teaching will be kept intact but we will discover that we can be super pastoral to the level of not caring of some doctrine.

    As a result, reading the news of Papal interviews and other Catholics news becomes equal to reading the Catechism. Who knows when the next doctrinal development or pastoral approach will be unveiled. One has no room but to pay attention.

    Now after reading the chapters about this in Imitation of Christ, I find this situation the Church has created discomforting. I want to not look at any news during this lent. I want to not have to look at some interview and not be distressed because of the confusing messages it sends out and the critical elements left out. But that is exactly what I encountered just yesterday.

    My policy from today, or my goal from today, is to ignore everything even from the Vatican. The way I see it, it’s not like they can change what was once right to mean the opposite. Remarriage cannot be once bad and now it’s allowed. I will keep everything the Church has commanded and what the Saints of the Church followed as it has been handed down to me through Tradition. I never signed up to be informed about the latest Church development against her own previous positions. That is how I plan to live from now on.

  3. Branch says:

    “I want to not have to look at some interview and not be distressed because of the confusing messages it sends out and the critical elements left out. But that is exactly what I encountered just yesterday.”

    -“Wait for it; it’s the translation.”

    (Someone get Jimmy Akin on Line One!)

  4. Dear B.C. After they are Baptised, they are no longer kids (L.H.T.I.C.)

  5. Tony, I’m of almost exactly the same mind. You might say I’m “burning while Rome fiddles” and the relief of burying my soul in the Mass, the wisdom of the Saints, and fixed Prayer has not come soon enough.

  6. Dear B.C. I thought you’d get the kids (goats) not yet baptised quip.

    Oncet, we had a Priest at our house in Vermont for a family funeral and Me Mom was talking about the innocence of children but he would have none of that – The last thing they are is innocent..

  7. A Reformed friend of mine and myself have that as a running joke when we’re around kids. “Augustine was right.

  8. As for the Baptism joke, you do always manage to get something by me. 😉

  9. joe m says:

    Most people often wish their kids would stop yapping.

  10. ErnstThalmann says:

    What’s happening? A few days ago, Frank gave an interview in which he clearly waffled on the question of civil unions for homosexuals yet, unless I’ve missed it, I have seen no commentary here about the incident. What about it, Cog, are you going to let him off the hook? It would seem that Frank feels that under certain circumstances civil unions need evaluation. I see also that the torture approving and excuse making, Jimmy Akin, about a year ago wrote out a dubious explanation of a report that Frank had approved of civil unions while archbishop. With the question of communion for divorced and remarrieds already clouded, the introduction of possible papal approval for civil unions “under certain conditions” now being up-in-the-air just serves to give one an even more jaundiced vision of Frankian Catholicism. How else to describe this bird than as destructive and misguided?

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

