Torches in the tunnels…

First, there’s this breathtakingly moronic piece by Bonavoglia: Feminist Blogger to Pope Francis: “God Trusted Women” to Have Abortions. The cherry on top is that her name means “good will” in Italian. Aside from a massive facepalm, what’s the takeaway?

I’m certainly willing to admit that the progressive scrum errs on the side of thinking Francis is “their pope.” My ongoing complaint is that he has let the leash out more than is prudent, and has thereby galvanized progressives. It shouldn’t take a piece as moronic as Bonavoglia’s to put back into stark perspective how comparatively closely Pope Francis hews to orthodoxy.

Second, the Vatican is pushing back against the UN’s calumnies against the Church’s teaching.

As above, while I have criticized the Church’s chummy naivete towards the UN, I am no ideologue. As above, just as Pope Francis is not “the Left’s Pope” so the Church is not “the UN’s prelate.” And yet, as above, my point is that it should not take such a flagrant assault on the Church to wake Her up to the dangers of stumping for One-World Terraforming. If, however, in God’s Providence, that is what it takes, then “make it so.”

Lastly, we have the appointment of Abp. Chaput by Pope Francis to the Pontifical Council for the Laity.

Despite my air of confidence, or perhaps because of it, I admit that my views on a number of aspects of the Church and the implications of Her authentic teaching are in flux these days. Let me, then, just call Chaput’s appointment a piece of “good news”. Yet, as my shift has been “tradward” these past few months, I must add that Chaput’s appointment conveys a not too subtle message in light of “the big picture” of the Church’s career these past several decades. Francis is clearly not hostile to conservatives–well, unless they fail to display unstinting zeal for all things Vatican-II and “the New Evangelization.” His beef is plainly with “traditionalists”, of which Chaput cannot be counted. Francis’s appointment makes sense in so far as Chaput is a dyed-in-the-wool “conciliar” cleric, and a masthead of the Americanist wing of the New Evangelization.

But, aye, there’s the rub. Where does the New Evangelization begin and the Americanist vision end?

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Torches in the tunnels…

  1. Branch says:

    I’m think I’m ‘just’ going to start spending my time trying to focus on God more. More prayer, more psalms, more personal relationship with Christ. Is that copping out or opting out of whatever it is we’re going through? I don’t know, really. I am so confused about so much that I don’t know. But I don’t know what else to do and I’m tired of feeling far from the Lord while trying to fight against … I don’t know what.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

