A note to FCA’s email subscribers…

I’m not sure about the mechanics of following a blog by email, but I assume that those who do so get the entire post delivered in the body of an email. Or perhaps they receive a link and the opening lines of the post, whereupon they can click over to the blog for further reading. Based on my traffic patterns, I think it’s the former (otherwise I’ve got a whole lot of email subscribers who join and then regularize).

So, let me clarify something for those of you who might only interact with FCA via posts in your email: it is not uncommon for me to add information, especially quotations, to posts after first publishing them (sometimes very soon thereafter, and usually in the header of the post). Therefore, if a post interests you, it’s probably worth visiting the post itself online, to see if there are any new bits I’ve added to strike your fancy.

I realize that this is not “best practice” for a blogger, since, presumably, I should wait until the post is “perfect” before releasing it, and that adding “that perfect quotation” after the fact is to be haunted by l’esprit de l’escalier, but–yeah, well, okay, that’s me all over. I realized many years ago that being able to hold out for and detect “ideal conditions” would itself require ideal conditions. I blog when I can find the time, and one of my main emphases is salvaging, against the demonic tide of apathy (infra), exhibits of past wisdom for the benefit of fellow Ents, faithful in fieri, and seekers along the way. My analysis, you might say, is largely an excuse to highlight great and/or timely quotations.

So, if you’re an email-only reader, please drop in now and then to see what I left out on my first shot. Better yet, drop in to provide the quotations or references that I should have included!

Stay tuned.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A note to FCA’s email subscribers…

  1. Steve Fowler says:

    I get the start of the article and then the link.

  2. AmoPapam says:

    There are several e-mail options: immediate delivery, daily delivery, and weekly delivery. I had “daily delivery”, but then when I was very busy a few weeks ago changed it to “weekly delivery”. But then, because I tinker with things until they’re broken, I changed it to “immediate delivery”. So now it’s broken and I only get comments delivered, which include a brief summary of either the post or the specific comment which is the subject of the reply.

    Given my own time constraints, I’ll click over if I can; if not I catch it at some other point. Though when a post goes on for a good yard or so of screen length, I have to admit that I tyuuuune out, quasi-regularize, and try to catch it later.

  3. “This one tyuuuunes….out!”

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

