Wanna get big, gotta eat big…

A friend recently asked me to elaborate on the dietary aspect of my bulking challenge. The following picture captures the gist of it.

P1020846Five eggs, with ample amounts of kale, lightly fried in olive oil (and then paper-toweled to remove excess oil), with the core of my weightlifting strategy scrawled in Sriracha.

Need I say more?

My protein intake goal is 325 grams of protein per day (i.e. 1.5 g x my bodyweight), which equates to about 54 eggs per day. No thanks. Kale provides decent amounts of protein, as do cold cuts, tofu, fish, and peanut butter (just off the top of my amateur head). Using a protein supplement is the most effective means, of course. I’m also taking at least half a dozen fish oil pills per day, though once I start bulking in earnest (next week), that may get as high as a dozen, along with vitamin D and various other supplements. The rule of thumb is, “Eat way more protein and fish oil than you think is ‘a lot’, and eat just about as much more fiber. Oh, and… lots of water and plenty of sleep.”

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanna get big, gotta eat big…

  1. Phil says:

    Unfornately I am too lazy to get back in the shape I was a couple of years ago but at these times I used to eat 1.5kg of quark every day plus some chicken breasts. Lets hope the upcoming Lent season gives me some motivation to transform some kilos of the fat again in good ol’ muscle…

  2. Tony Jokin says:

    I gave up “bulking up” because of the insane amount of calories I had to take for my body type. I got sick of the feeling of eating so much after a month or two of doing it in the couple of times I attempted haha. When I decided to go clean calories, then it became expensive considering the usually high cost of protein supplements [speaking of which, 325 g of protein that you said would be pretty hard to keep up with just the oils and fish!!! That’s like roughly 8 whole chicken breasts per day :D]. So now its just mainly an attempt to be lean with some muscle for me.

    Hope you succeed in your new program though! Hope you will still have time to write here and then as well! 🙂

  3. Eating is definitely the hardest part of bulking. I will be using a protein supplement, of course, and lots of PB&honey sandwiches throughout the day, on top of regular meals. I tried the “Squats and Milk” routine a couple years ago, but eventually gave up because–yes–the constant eating. Hopefully this time I can do it!

  4. Proph says:

    I didn’t know “squats and milk” was an actual routine, but I was doing something very similar a few years ago — a gallon of milk a day (the only way I could stand to consume that many calories) and squats three times a week. I had to give it up because I developed arthritis in my hips but I put on about 25 pounds in just over six months.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

