Fun for the whole family…

…as every Holy Mass should be!

The following takes place right after a Mass, in 2008, I believe, presided over by some Argentine clerics.

Is it flyspecking to find scandal in this?

Is this just a cultural difference that I should take in stride?

Does “lex orandi, lex credendi” mean anything anymore?

Just another day, another derp, I guess.

I’m glad I’m pretty much desensitized to things like this by now. I mean… I’m not… I don’t even….

I’ve noted Second Vatican Conchshell nonsense like this before, so I’d like to think I’m an equal opportunity codger. To wit, let us never forget this old gem:



Truth be told, my formative years as an adult Christian were filled with worship sessions much like the above, so I’m fully into festive worship for young people, but it must be in a setting clearly outside of the Mass, perhaps as a fellowship concert in the evening of the Sunday morning Mass.

Oh, but what do I know? Whatever it takes to get bodies in the pews, I guess. Are we seeing a social blip driven by inchoate sentimentality, or a lasting conversion of hearts? Doesn’t really matter, I guess, since “the people” can smile again.



Hey, now–they use Latin, so it’s all good, right?

I’ve been to a World Youth Day (2005, Köln), and even as a new Catholic only in my early twenties, I was pretty stunned by how crassly some things were handled. The latest World Youth Day seems to have taken the crassness to new heights.

Then again, if they really cared about reaching “the people,” they could have wrapped things up with a tango.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fun for the whole family…

  1. No, it’s not flyspecking, no cultural difference can possibly justify dancing on the cusp of the sanctuary and within a couple feet of the Altar. Holiness as a concept precludes the use of sacred places as common places, that is just about diametrically opposed to the very essence of consecrating a location as sacred.

  2. It was just “some” Argentine clerics, mind you.

  3. tamsin says:

    Well, Francis did say he liked the tango, so “suffer the little tangoists, and forbid them not to come unto me: for the kingdom of heaven is for such.”

  4. Thank God he doesn’t know about twerking. Then again, if it draws “the people”….

  5. Thank you for the irreversible image pressed firmly into my mind. It’ll come to the fore now whenever I hear of a rather whore-like attention-grabbing act on the part of the Holy Father, which could be quite frequently in the next few years.

  6. c matt says:

    It would probably throw his back out, so at least we can to be spared such an exhbition. But who knows, maybe the next World Youth Day choreographer already has that in the works for the Bishops’ encore.

  7. c matt says:

    Don’t get me wrong – I do like tango music. But then, there are a lot of things I like that are not appropriate to incorporate into the Mass.

  8. Pingback: The ball is still in play… | FideCogitActio : "Omnis per gratiam," etiam sub patrocinio S. Ignatii Loyolae et Francisci Salesii. C.S.S.M.L. + N.D.S.M.D. + V.R.S. N.S.M.V. S.M.Q.L. I.V.B.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

