“Not in my house!” Great ad!

“Now I beseech you, brethren, to mark them who make dissensions and offences contrary to the doctrine which you have learned, and avoid them.” – Romans 16:17

Earlier this month, the ever sober Mundabor presented his standards for “commentiquette.” I endorse them almost entirely, the difference being that my blog is not expressly unwelcoming to debate. Still, though, flame wars and baiting?

Ain’t nobody got time for dat!

I owe it to my tiny band of nerdy readers to keep the level of discourse high. Mundabor says it well:

[Comment moderation] will require from every commenter the rather healthy attitude that when he writes a comment he knows the comment could not be published. This is healthy because it helps him to keep the comment short and to the point, so that within my allotted time for reading comments[,] more comments – all short and to the point – can find their place here, making the blog more useful and enriching for everyone.

I am not ready to establish automatic comment moderation, but, on those thankfully extremely rare occasions when I need to, I will unpublish some comments or classify them as spam. There is such a thing as “the Dunning-Kruger effect,” and I’d like to spare us all of such an irritating tendency. Having been banned myself, I don’t take great umbrage at it (Crude is right: his blog, his rules). Did I just admit that I suffer from the Dunning-Kruger effect? If I thought I were truly competent, I would have; but since I admit that I’m a zealous amateur at best, my threadbare modesty is still intact.

It is probably no secret that this administrative alert comes as a result of the unfortunate excesses on display in this comment thread. The following is my rationale to any commentor of the same spirit:

You’ll notice that I said you can post “pretty much anything” here, intentionally phrasing it that way because I expected (correctly, as it happens) that you would just keep blindly charging ahead, chasing your own tail, and ultimately working yourself into a frenzied hypostasis that “pretty much” can no longer post anything here. No more vulgarity, thank you. No more adolescent baiting, thank you. No more berating fellow commenters, either, thank you very much. Once you make a point or a criticism, do not keep repeating it. As hard as it is to believe, I bear you no ill will. I just know that there is no spiritual benefit for either of us if I keep engaging you. I grant that I may be just as much of a blowhard as yourself, but that doesn’t mean I must tolerate you in my tiny little corner of the blogosphere. My blog, my rules, as they say. 

Now, I realize my decision will only aggrandize your… wait for it… conspiracy theory-style paranoia about “RadTrads” (I’ve never even been to a TLM, by the way, have never read more than an article of The Remnant, and fail to conform to almost every other rubric you might want to levy against me), but I have decided that ending the farce now is worth the almost certain risk of hardening your irrational animus towards me.

However, I’m letting your, ahem, contributions heretofore remain on my blog for two reasons. First, I want to show that I have nothing to hide. Second, I hope they serve as a public reminder that, while I eagerly welcome informed, constructive criticism, I have my limits. I hope I’m wrong, but I expect you shall denounce my name on as many blogs and forums as you can find before grace and good sense kick in. Oh well. Haters gonna hate. Go troll someone else, and let’s see about having a civil conversation again no earlier than Christmas 2013.

Thank you, and Godspeed.

To the rest of you, thank you for your prayers and feedback.

Play ball!

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Not in my house!” Great ad!

  1. Brock Fowler says:

    Yep! That explains it well! Among Christians, the Bible condemns such things as: dissension, quarreling, factiousness, division, and disorder. Oh, and Rom 2:8 promises the fractious hell. 🙂

  2. Pingback: A note on method… | FideCogitActio : "Omnis per gratiam," etiam sub patrocinio S. Ignatii Loyolae et Francisci Salesii

  3. Pingback: This is why we can’t have nice things… | FideCogitActio : "Omnis per gratiam" fidescogitactio @ gmail . com

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

