Reading ALL THE THINGS!

It’s very reassuring to find other Catholics, far more eloquent and insightful than myself, expressing some of the same concerns I have as I get to know Pope Francis more and more. I pray for the Pope, but I can’t deny that his leadership “style” and rhetoric leave me increasingly baffled, sullen and demoralized. I didn’t enter the Church to get a jovial Lutheran pastor in robes. Maybe it’s just my problem, but I need to keep working through it. As such, the following are some links I highly recommend. I also consider it essential to peruse the comments below most of these posts.

“It seems to me that more than a few Catholics (media types in particular) have been relishing in their enlightened understanding of Pope Francis’ media blitz with few [sic] harsh words for those faithful Catholics not quite on the bandwagon.”

“[Pope Francis’s comments to Scalfari about good and evil] can be seen with certain context to be true, but the context is lacking and the takeaway as clear as the truth here is muddied.

“But Wait. What if I encourage people to move towards what they think is Good, I might accidentally proselytize. I am so confused.

“And what if my vision of Good over Evil is to tell other people that their unformed notions of Good over evil are irrelevant to the truth? What if my vision of the good is Evangeproselytism?”

“Jesuits were and still are the leavening – not the only one but perhaps the most effective – of Catholicism: culture, teaching, missionary work, loyalty to the Pope. “

Lastly, while we’re on the subject of effective missionary work, guess which dogmatic right-winger said the following:

“How’s our faith?  Is it strong? Or is it sometimes a bit superficial [like rose water]? … [A]re we courageous like Peter or a little lukewarm? … [T]he Faith isn’t negotiable. … There has been, throughout history of the people, this temptation: to chop a piece off the Faith… [to do a bit] like everyone else does… [and] not to be so very rigid…. But when we start to cut down the Faith, to negotiate Faith, a little like selling it to the highest bidder, we take the path of apostasy, of disloyalty to the Lord.”

Happy reading!

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading ALL THE THINGS!

  1. Being a real Novice, I will be eternally analyzing online for articles that’ll assist me. Thanks! I am totally enjoying your web site and enjoy refreshing upgrades.
    Skoda Oktavia tuning http://haplology.dotbookmarks.com/story.php?title=lautsprecher-tipps-im-skoda-oktavia

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

