Personal update after, regrettably, some time away

Here’s an update on how I’ve been staying fit lately.  I will also update this post with a statement I made on Facebook a couple weeks ago about this new year of teaching (I’m at work now so I can’t access Facebook), but the gist of it is this: I don’t hate teaching like I did last year! This is my eleventh year as a teacher, but only my second year… as a German… and Spanish teacher… at a public high school… in America. Last year was awful. Made me loathe teaching. Had me looking for different careers every week. This year is already going so much better. It’s all about classroom management and rapport. Plus, differentiated work stations are looking to be a dream come true. Stay tuned.

[13 Sept. 2013 –– At last, here is the update promised above:]

It’s hard to explain how differently this year of school has begun compared with last year. I have been consumed for the past month to establish strong, clear classroom routines and rules, a much better organized desk-workflow, and a sharper vision of the more interactive curriculum I want to present. I was on all cylinders for the first week of school, eating, breathing, sleeping, and even dreaming “teacher.” I think it’s a healthy obsession. Being frustrated or bored by your job is one of the most painful conditions of which I know. I realize, of course, that things may become tedious or much less effective at times over the year, but for now I’m on fire about being as good a teacher as I can be. For example, Wednesday I came home, ate a couple bowls of rice, started to watch a movie, but then fell asleep by 7pm on the sofa. I suddenly woke up at 4am, didn’t bother trying to sleep until 5am, when I normally get up, and instead analyzed and recorded some reading materials we’ll use in German class. I feel the intercession of Sts. Joseph and Francis de Sales. AMDG!

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

