Screw you, eugenicist fashionistas!

As you may know, a few weeks ago, the idiot otherwise known as the CEO of Abercrombie & Fitch said that he does not want fat and/or ugly people wearing his company’s products, since that would deface their market value.

Meanwhile, he looks like this…

-1

Happily enough, photographer Rick Guidotti has mounted a campaign to focus on those with genetic conditions, presumably as a counterpunch against Abercrombie & Fitch.

My mom was an occupational therapist for almost three decades. Over the years, I was privileged to accompany her to work, and I learned to see the image of God even in the most handicapped and incapable children on this earth. Abercrombie & Fitch is exactly what’s wrong with our society: it promotes narcissism, eugenic arrogance, and purely shallow beauty. I don’t do a lot of boycotting, but until I see a change in their official policy, I won’t wear or purchase so much as a plucked thread from their product line. Hell, I might even just boycott all their goods for the rest of my life as a reminder to myself not to mingle with the wicked.

About The Codgitator (a cadgertator)

Catholic convert. Quasi-Zorbatic. Freelance interpreter, translator, and web marketer. Former ESL teacher in Taiwan (2003-2012) and former public high school teacher (2012-2014). Married father of three. Multilingual, would-be scholar, and fairly consistent fitness monkey. My research interests include: the interface of religion and science, the history and philosophy of science and technology, ancient and medieval philosophy, and cognitive neuroscience. Please pray for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Screw you, eugenicist fashionistas!

  1. Crude says:

    I’m not sure if I can agree immediately here. And I say this as a guy who needs to lose weight himself.

    I don’t see the A&F CEO railing against just plain ugly people. He’s taking aim at fat people particularly – and when it comes to being fat, most of the time, we’re talking about people who do this to themselves due to lack of will and otherwise. I’m against nanny states banning high-calorie foods to help promote health, but I also am not an immediate fan of what amounts to ‘fat women complaining that Abercrombie and Fitch don’t make clothes that fit them, and finding out that’s on purpose’.

    Yes, there’s a narcissistic angle to it as well. But at that point we’ve got narcissists facing off against gluttons (and, let’s be honest – other narcissists. You can have a fat narcissist.), and by then I really don’t know who to cheer for.

  2. Pingback: One awful thing, one irksome thing, and one thing marvelous… | FideCogitActio : "Omnis per gratiam," etiam sub patrocinio S. Ignatii Loyolae et Francisci Salesii

Be kind, be (relatively) brief, be clear...

